As you may have heard by now, the European Union (EU) will begin enforcing new data protection legislation in the next couple of weeks called the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). The GDPR legislation affects European and non-European businesses with customers in the EU or other regions that have adopted the new laws.

This is a significant step forward in holding service providers (that's us!) accountable for how they store and use personal data in the European Union, and we've taken this opportunity to review our practices for everyone. Most of our policies were already aligned with the GDPR’s requirements, but we did make a few changes to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

These changes took effect on May 16th, 2018 and continued use of the PayWhirl platform constitutes acceptance of our new Terms of Use & Privacy Policy.

The Key Updates:

  1. Our Privacy Policy now includes our data retention policies, information to help you comply with the new regulations, and a simplified format to make the policy more easily understandable and transparent. https://app.paywhirl.com/privacy-shield-policy and https://app.paywhirl.com/privacy
  2. Our Terms of Service have been reviewed, updated, and re-organized to make things more transparent and to better account for new products and services being released.
  3. We’ve built some new tools to help you comply with “the right to be forgotten” requests from customers in the EU (please see below).  NEW: Forget Customer Feature We built a brand new feature to help you comply with "the right to be forgotten" requests from your EU customers. You'll notice a new "Delete & Forget" customer option when editing customer records within your PayWhirl account.If you receive a request from a customer to be forgotten, you can use the new delete & forget feature in your account to ensure that all of their data is deleted permanently, across all of PayWhirl’s infrastructure, and also your gateway provider, in a single step. 

NEW: Delete & Forget Customer Feature 

We built a brand new feature to help you comply with "right to be forgotten" requests from your EU customers. You'll notice a new "Delete & Forget" customer option when editing customer records within your PayWhirl account.If you receive a request from a customer to be forgotten, you can use the new delete & forget feature in your account to ensure that all of their data is deleted permanently, across all of PayWhirl’s infrastructure, and also your gateway provider, in a single step.

Did this answer your question?